Skip to content

So … We’ve been a little Octopied

by on 05/14/2012
Photo by FilthyLurker on deviantArt

Hi,

So, listen, I know I’ve been a little neglectful over the past 2 months and I know you’re mad about it but I have a REALLY good reason why. I know it’s sounds a bit crazy but my apartment was taken over by a giant green octopus. No, seriously! I have photos! Look! What? No, those aren’t inflatable tentacles, I had to battle for my life for 2 months. I barely got out alive. You still don’t believe me? Fine, whatever, I don’t need you to believe me for it to have really happened because I lived it! Anyways, I just want to say, you know … ‘I’m sorry’ and I’ll do my best to never neglect you in the future, so we can move on?

Sincerely Yours,
Phuong & PPG

Hi Everyone, Phuong here and welcome to the “first” blog post on PPG. I know I know, “don’t you already have a bunch of blog post up? How is this the first one?” Well … yeah … but … you know … just go with me here, alright? I’ll be using this space to give everyone a weekly or bi-weekly update on the site. Well, that’s it, see you guys back here next week. Ah, just kidding, how unspectacular would it have been to end it there. Kind of like all those crappy sitcom season finales. “WHERE’S MY AWESOME CLIFFHANGER!” Sorry, I’ve gotten a bit off topic. Okay, let’s get back to what you actually want to hear about, the site.

Our main page has undergone a pretty significant change, we’ve been putting up icons that link to the rest of the site, it’s more a design thing than a function thing. Right now, there’s only 3 icons and only 2 of them are working. The large photo of NHL team captains is linked to our Playoff Tree, if you haven’t seen it yet, be sure to take a look, I think it’s pretty cool. We’ve taken our existing 8-bit players, sliced them down the middle and stuck ’em together Face/off style. We’ve also linked our downloadable 2011/12 NHL Schedule, once the 2012/13 NHL Schedule is released, we’ll be sure to update the link. Sorry that we didn’t get around to releasing a Stanley Cup Playoffs calendar, we’ll make sure to release one next year. We’re hoping to create 2012/13 AHL and CHL schedules this coming season as well. The third icon, will be linked to our PPG Podcast. Unfortunately, we don’t expect to release out first podcast until the start of training camp for the 2012/13 season. So please be patient with us.

If you follow us on twitter, you probably notice the link we tweeted linking you to our 2012 NHL Draft Results page, you may have noticed there is no navigation from the main page to this page, well that’s because we’re still putting some finish touches on. It should be live, including links from the main page, shortly after the Stanley Cup Final. We also have a main NHL Draft Page up with information about details about the NHL Entry Draft for anyone with any questions with how it works.

Now for some more exciting news, once the Stanley Cup playoffs are over, we’ll be doing a FULL 2012 NHL Mock Draft. That’s right, we’re going to go through and draft for all 211 picks! We’ll also be doing some type of live draft coverage on June 22nd and 23rd, we haven’t decided if this will be on twitter, Facebook or on the site itself. Once we sort it out, we’ll make sure to make an announcement so EVERYONE knows. Also during the draft, we’ll be releasing 8-bit images of all first round draftees! Speaking of 8-bit images, we’ll be updating our NHL rosters to accurately reflect teams as they enter the 2012/13 NHL season. We’re also hoping to release AHL rosters in 8-bit next season too. There’ll be lots fantasy hockey articles over the summer to help you gear up for next season, so be ready for them!

Also for those wondering, our apparel store has been temporarily shut down because we felt we were producing anything of quality so until we do, we won’t open up the store.

If there’s anything you’d like to see on the site and we mean ANYTHING, we’re open to any and all ideas, let us know via twitter, Facebook, e-mail or via the comments below!

See you all next week,

-Phuong

From → Blog

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

